Withamsville church of Christ has a long and storied history. In October 1889, a meeting was held for the purpose of establishing a new congregation of believers. Many attended who had been baptized in the name of Jesus Christ. Following their Restoration Movement heritage, the church was named Withamsville Church of Christ.
Fourteen people began the congregation. The number grew to about 75 over the next 26 years. The congregation’s first dedicated church building was completed in 1893 and was located about 300 yards east of the current location. The church met there until 1963 when the east portion of our current building was completed on donated property. Our current worship area and main building were completed in 1989. In 2002, the youth house was purchased and added to the church grounds.
Elders were appointed in 1932, the first of whom were Brothers V.N. Butts and Harold Maddux. We now have seven elders who serve the congregation. The first full-time preacher began service at Withamsville in 1947 and has been succeeded by several devoted ministers. Mike Grose served our congregation from 1985-2015. Kevin Stewart joined the congregation as the senior minister in January of 2019. Kevin has a doctorate in ministry from Abilene Christian University and has a long and successful history of ministry experience.